Shetland teachers win well-deserved recognition

Tavish Scott has congratulated two Shetland teachers on their success in the 2015 Scottish Education Awards and has tabled a motion in the Scottish Parliament recording their success.

Irene Smith, deputy Head Teacher at Bells Brae Primary School won a Lifetime Achievement Award, while Marianne Raikes, Head Teacher of the Ollaberry Primary School was shortlisted in the Head Teacher of the Year Award category.

Commenting on their achievement, Tavish Scott said:

“This is a tremendous achievement for Shetland’s schools. Irene has been a tower of educational strength at Bells Brae Primary School and thoroughly deserves this Scotland-wide accolade. She has taught generations of young Shetlanders and as one, I am immensely proud of her commitment to the islands and to our future. Marianne’s nomination in the Head Teacher of the Year category is a triumph for her and for a small island school. These awards are a fitting recognition of the strengths we have in Shetland and on which, we must all build.”

Text of motion tabled today by Tavish Scott in the Scottish Parliament:

S4M-13460 Shetland Teachers Win well-deserved Recognition

That the Parliament welcomes what it considers the well-deserved success of two Shetland teachers in the 2015 Scottish Education Awards; welcomes the Lifetime Achievement Award won by Irene Smith, the deputy head teacher at Bells Brae Primary School in Lerwick, and the shortlisting in the Head Teacher of the Year Award category of Marianne Raikes, the head teacher of the Ollaberry Primary School; recognises the vital importance of first rate teachers inspiring young people to develop the skills that they, Shetland and Scotland need for the future, and believes that both teachers fully deserve the recognition that their success in this year’s awards gives them.

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.